Favorite Books and Authors in 2014

Well, it’s almost 2015. I’ve enjoyed discovering new books and new authors over the last year. And while not every book was published in 2014, I would like to share my top favorites in books and authors.

Favorite Books of 2014 (in no particular order)

The Secrets of Gwenla by Laurie Penner

Secrets of Gwenla cover

I LOVED this book. I was immersed in the characters and the story, which is an allegory but it definitely doesn’t suffer from heavy-handedness or preachiness, and I’m dying to find out what happens next in this series. You can read my original review here.

Duty: a novel of Rhynan by Rachel Rossano

Duty Cover

This is one of my favorite arranged marriage stories of all time. I love how it goes beyond “Will They or Won’t They?” This is a medieval-esque fantasy and it definitely has the feel of a clean medieval romance, which is also a favorite genre of mine. I’m looking forward to reading the next book in this series when it comes out. You can read my original review here.

The Ryn: Book One of the Eyes of E’veria by Serena Chase

The Ryn Cover

This is an excellent offering for the New Adult category. I loved the twist on the Grimm fairytale of Snow White and Rose Red and how familiar elements from that tale were woven into this original story. I’ve read and reviewed every book in the series so far but this first book is the one that completely won me over. I eagerly await the fourth book in the series due in 2015. You can read my original review here.

The Honorable Mentions (in no particular order)

Wren (The Romany Epistles) by Rachel Rossano

Wren Cover

Another offering by Rachel Rossano and it is part of a nine-author series, which I did not realize when I first read it. However, that shouldn’t stop you from enjoying this one because it is a story that stands on its own. I love this story because it takes the idea of the female bounty hunter and prevents the clichés from taking over and the romance is very sweet. You can read my original review here.

Illuminated: Book One of The White Road Chronicles by Jackie Castle

Illuminated Cover

I truly enjoy this series, book two is even better than the first and I can’t wait to read the third book. This is an allegory that provides a nice visual of the Christian walk and the characters are relatable even the centaurs. Of course, bonus points for going beyond dragons to include centaurs and other fantasy creatures as well as making them three-dimensional. You can read my original review here.

The Land of Flames (The Karini and Lamek Chronicles Book 1) by Cynthia P. Willow

The Land of Flames Cover

This is a very sweet, funny, and family-friendly fairy tale. I loved the characters, especially Lamek who is adorably hilarious. I think this is one of those books that deserves to be placed next to The Chronicles of Narnia for young readers. You can read my original review here.

The Up-and-Comers of 2014

Resistance by Jaye L. Knight

Resistance Cover

This is another good entry for the New Adult category. I enjoyed the heavy world-building and I see a lot of potential in Knight’s work. Definitely an author to watch, especially with Book Two coming out in 2015. Read my original review here.

Dragon’s Touch by A.R. Johnson

Dragon's Touch Cover

I was literally blown away when I learned that this author is just sixteen years old because the sheer potential and talent I saw in this book was amazing. I think this young author will go far as she continues with her writing career and I look forward to reading Johnson’s next offering. You can read my original review here.

Favorite Discovered Fantasy Authors and Bonus Favorite Non-Fantasy Author/Series for the Year

I read a number of new authors this year. In fact, most of them are also Indie, which I consider great news because that is where I am finding some of the best Christian Fantasy. Limiting myself to the top four favorite authors, whom I enjoy for a number of reasons, they are:

(In alphabetical order)

Jackie Castle

Serena Chase

Laurie Penner

and Rachel Rossano

I love these authors. They all have differences in styles but they share the excellent world-building that breathes life into each story and allowing their faith to show through the story without drifting into sermonizing.

As promised, my bonus favorite author and series. Obviously I don’t read just fantasy. I also enjoy reading other genres; however, I’m limiting myself to just one author and her series.

I love a good cozy mystery, especially ones where I don’t know for sure how it will all end. I definitely got that with Julianna Deering and her Drew Farthering Mystery series. This series appeals to me so much because there’s mystery, romance, humor, and Drew goes on a journey of faith and grows as a character in each book, which also happen to be set in 1930s England. I have read all three, love them all, and I am eagerly waiting for more from this author.

Rules of Murder (A Drew Farthering Mystery)

Rules of Murder Cover

Death by the Book (A Drew Farthering Mystery)

Death by the Book Cover

Murder at the Mikado (A Drew Farthering Mystery)

Murder at the Mikado Cover

And those are my picks for favorite books and authors that I have read in 2014. I’m looking forward to discovering new favorites in 2015.

*Covers taken from each book’s amazon page. All rights to their proper owners.

4 thoughts on “Favorite Books and Authors in 2014

  1. deannadodson

    Thanks so much for mentioning my books. I’m SO pleased to know you liked them. Looking forward to reading yours soon!

    Julianna Deering

    Reply

Leave a Reply

