Tiger’s Paw Snippet – Weekend Writing Warriors

For the #8sunday Weekend Writing Warriors blog hop


A low growl broke free as I surveyed the prisoner, scenting his fear…and his madness. Bitter, astringent, and tinged with that undefinable scent of wrongness. I bared my teeth and snarled as I grabbed the prisoner’s shirt. Yanking him upright, I slammed him against the metal wall of the containment room. “Why, traitor?”

Burning gold eyes stared back at me, too insane to back down as was proper among Therians. I slammed him against the wall again then tossed him into the chair. My two lieutenants held him in place.


 

The above is an excerpt from my WIP novella, Tiger’s Paw, the prequel to The Therian Way, my urban fantasy series. I’m always curious to hear what people think of the first impression of my protagonist. Intense? Intrigued?

 

 

Tiger’s Paw excerpt (c) Kimberly A. Rogers and kimberlyrogerscfwriter.wordpress.com blog.

18 thoughts on “Tiger’s Paw Snippet – Weekend Writing Warriors

  1. Teresa Cypher

    Wonderful! You are skilled at infusing descriptions seamlessly into your sentences. They don’t feel like descriptions, and don’t read like them…nothing to trip up the reading flow. Nicely done! I would definitely read more.

    I don’t think I’ve read any of your work, before. Welcome to Weekend Writing Warriors. 🙂 We’re glad to have you her. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Millie Burns

    You’ve raised a lot of questions for me…what traitorous act did he commit, and why is he insane? Was he always a bit crazy, or is his insanity caused by his crime? Welcome to WeWriWa!

    Reply
  3. veronicascott

    Your main character reminds me of a shifter in human form, probably due to the animalistic references about snarling and bared teeth. I’ve no idea if that’s how Therians actually are! The snippet definitely raises interesting questions about what’s happened and I’d be reading on for sure.

    Reply
  4. caitlinstern

    I’m guessing the madness explains some of the why–insane people do all kinds of things. Lots of throwing around the prisoner. Makes me think he did something really bad.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Tiger’s Paw Snippet – Weekend Writing Warriors – Part 2 | So You Want to Write Christian Fantasy?

Leave a Reply

